Make It Yourself; Yummy DIY Summer Drinks To Help You Ditch The Plastic!

Okay, so I have to admit it, my plastic use wasn’t really something that I was too worried about a few months ago. I bought a Starbucks coffee in a plastic cup, or a bottle of water, or a bottle of soft drink pretty much every day and it never really occurred to me how bad that actually was. But, recently I’ve had a bit of a realisation about just how bad this is for the environment, and I desperately wanted to change my actions. So, Zack and I have come up with a few yummy recipes that are just as good as the things that I was spending quite a bit of money on buying in plastic containers that are terrible for the environment. These are pretty quick to make, and I generally make them in an evening time and refrigerate them ready for the morning to take in a reusable bottle like this one from Chilly’s.

Lemon Iced Tea

Iced tea is definitely a favourite of mine, particularly in the summer months. This recipe is quick, easy and sugar free- all of my favourite things!

You will need:

  • 3 Tea Bags
  • 1L Boiled Water
  • 1L Cold Water
  • 4 tsp Sweetener (or sugar if you prefer)
  • 2 Lemons
  • Handful of Ice Cubes

Okay, now let’s get started;

  1. Pour 500ml of Boiled Water into a suitable container (I use a glass jug). Add the tea bags and sweetener.
  2. In another suitable container (I use another glass jug), pour in the remaining 500ml of boiled water and add 1 chopped lemon (make sure you remove the seeds!).
  3. Wait 10 minutes for these flavours to diffuse.
  4. Juice the other lemon, and add to the lemon mixture.
  5. Now, pour the tea mixture into the lemon mixture (or vice-versa) and mix.
  6. Add the 1L of cold water to the mixture.
  7. Add the ice, and chill over night.

Easy right?! And it tastes yummy too! You can also make peach iced tea the same way, just swap out the lemons for fresh peaches!

Iced Coffee

Mmmmm.. Iced coffee is one of my favourites! Don’t worry if you don’t have the expensive, fancy syrups, this recipe uses 2 things that you’re likely to have lying around in your baking cupboard!

You will need:

  • 1L of Boiling Water
  • 500ml of Cold Water
  • 500ml of Milk (or almond/coconut etc)
  • 2 tbsp Golden Syrup
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 6 tsp of Coffee (I use Colombia Medellin Swiss Water Decaf Ground*)
  • 4 tsp sweetener (or sugar if you prefer)
  • Handful of ice cubes

Okay, let’s get started;

  1. Pour the 1L of Boiling Water into a suitable container and stir in the instant coffee and sweetener. Leave to diffuse for 5 mins.
  2. In a separate container, combine the milk and cold water with the vanilla extract.
  3. Add the golden syrup into the coffee mix and stir.
  4. Combine the two mixes, and stir until the top is frothy!
  5. Add the ice cubes and chill overnight.

 

Fruit Infused Water

Okay, so this recipe was actually one of my first ever blog posts, but I’m gonna share it again for the fun of it!

You will need:

  • 2L Cold Water
  • Jug
  • Selection of fruit (I used mint and strawberry!)
  • 1 tbsp of sweetener
  • Handful of ice cubes

Let’s get started…

  1. Pour the 2L of water into the jug.
  2. Add the sweetener and fruit selection and stir
  3. Add ice cubes
  4. Chill overnight

As simple as that!

What refreshing drinks do you like making in the summer? I’d love to know in the comments! I hope that this post gave you some inspo, and that you begin saving money and the environment by making your own drinks at home!

 

Love,

H x

*This product was sent in exchange for feature. For more information, please see my Disclaimer.

2 Replies to “Make It Yourself; Yummy DIY Summer Drinks To Help You Ditch The Plastic!”

Leave a comment